Bible Genre Series – LAW

7:30PM, Message Notes

Bible Genre Series – Law 

Traditionally: First 5 Books of Moses – Exodus (part b). Leviticus, Numbers (sections), Deuteronomy


  1. The Ten Commandments

(Exodus 20:1-17)

  1. You shall have no other gods before Me. 
  2. You shall not make for yourself an idol in the form of anything. 
  3. You shall not misuse the name of the Lord your God. 
  4. Remember the Sabbath day by keeping it holy. 
  5. Honor your father and your mother. 
  6. You shall not murder. 
  7. You shall not commit adultery. 
  8. You shall not steal. 
  9. You shall not give false testimony against your neighbor. 
  10. You shall not covet your neighbor’s house, wife, or property.  

2.Importance of the law

(Romans 7:7-12 NKJV) What shall we say then? Is the law sin? Certainly not! On the contrary, I would not have known sin except through the law. For I would not have known covetousness unless the law had said, “You shall not covet.” (8) But sin, taking opportunity by the commandment, produced in me all manner of evil desire. For apart from the law sin was dead. (9) I was alive once without the law, but when the commandment came, sin revived and I died. (10) And the commandment, which was to bring life, I found to bring death. (11) For sin, taking occasion by the commandment, deceived me, and by it killed me. (12) Therefore the law is holy, and the commandment holy and just and good.

3.Jesus fulfilled the law 

(John 1:17 NKJV) For the law was given through Moses, but grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.

(Romans 3:20-21 NKJV) Therefore by the deeds of the law no flesh will be justified in His sight, for by the law is the knowledge of sin. (21) But now the righteousness of God apart from the law is revealed, being witnessed by the Law and the Prophets,

(Matthew 5:17-18 NKJV) “Do not think that I came to destroy the Law or the Prophets. I did not come to destroy but to fulfill. (18) For assuredly, I say to you, till heaven and earth pass away, one jot or one tittle will by no means pass from the law till all is fulfilled.  

4.The Unblemished Lamb Of God 

(Leviticus 5:5-6 NKJV) ‘And it shall be, when he is guilty in any of these matters, that he shall confess that he has sinned in that thing; (6) and he shall bring his trespass offering to the Lord for his sin which he has committed, a female from the flock, a lamb or a kid of the goats as a sin offering. So the priest shall make atonement for him concerning his sin.

(John 1:29 NKJV) The next day John saw Jesus coming toward him, and said, “Behold! The Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world!

(1 Peter 1:18-19 NKJV) knowing that you were not redeemed with corruptible things, like silver or gold, from your aimless conduct received by tradition from your fathers, (19) but with the precious blood of Christ, as of a lamb without blemish and without spot.


5.Jesus – Our Great High Priest 

(Hebrews 7:24-28 NKJV) But He, because He continues forever, has an unchangeable priesthood. (25) Therefore He is also able to save to the uttermost those who come to God through Him, since He always lives to make intercession for them. (26) For such a High Priest was fitting for us, who is holy, harmless, undefiled, separate from sinners, and has become higher than the heavens; (27) who does not need daily, as those high priests, to offer up sacrifices, first for His own sins and then for the people’s, for this He did once for all when He offered up Himself. (28) For the law appoints as high priests men who have weakness, but the word of the oath, which came after the law, appoints the Son who has been perfected forever.



(Deuteronomy 30:15-16 NKJV) “See, I have set before you today life and good, death and evil, (16) in that I command you today to love the Lord your God, to walk in His ways, and to keep His commandments, His statutes, and His judgments, that you may live and multiply; and the Lord your God will bless you in the land which you go to possess.